Downloading the new version will NOT make you lose any of your existing audit data. In fact, there is only one thing you can do which might make you lose any of your audit data.
Deleting the old version of the app with unsynced audits.
Why would I lose any data?
For starters, the ONLY data you stand to lose is the answers to questions for audits being conducted on a tablet.
Because we needed to make it possible to conduct audits without access to wi-fi, the answers to all audit questions are kept on your tablet until you hit the "Sync" button (at which point they're added to your account in the cloud). For a refresher on what happens before and after an audit is synced, read about the self-audit process.
So what should I do before deleting the old app?
First, figure out if you'll be deleting any data. The easiest way to do this is to log into the tablet app and view the list of audits in "Your Upcoming Audits." Look for any audits in the list with the status of "Complete" (meaning all questions have been answered) or "In Progress" (some have been answered).
These are the audits in which you would lose data if you deleted the app.
If you DON'T have any audits in the "Complete" or "In Progress" stages...
You're in the clear to delete the app, but...
BEFORE deleting, you should have other Simplifya users log in and check their list of audits as well. Once all employees who've used that tablet have done this, you can be sure no data will be lost.
If you DO have audits in these two stages...
Complete the audit by answering the remaining questions and then sync in the audit. For audits whose status is "Complete", you'll need to click on the audit and hit the "Sync Appointment" button (must be done when on wi-fi). Once an audit has been synced, all answers will be saved into the cloud and the audit will no longer be listed on this tablet's list of audits.
Again, have all other employees who've logged in with that tablet do the same. Once all employees are sure no more audits are in the "Complete" or "In Progress" stage, you're cleared to remove the app.
Note: This is topic is only important for audits being conducted on the tablet app. If your audits are being conducted within the Simplifya web app, this issue won't affect you.