In the SOPs feature, we give as much flexibility as possible when it comes to who in your company has access to your SOPs. We understand that not all employees at your company should have access to all SOPs, whether that’s due to the private nature of the SOP, or just due to the fact that not all SOPs are relevant to all employees.
Default Access in the SOPs Feature
When creating an SOP, the SOP creator is able to set the state (or states) that the SOP applies to, and is also able to set the specific location (or locations) that the SOP applies to (this can be across states, too). If states or locations are not specified for the SOP, all users on the account will be able to see the SOP.
- Administrators: can see all SOPs in the company and can set the access permissions for all SOPs.
- Managers: can only see SOPs for their state or location and can set the access permissions for these SOPs.
- Employees: can only see SOPs linked to their state or location.
Managing Access to Your SOPs By Role and By User
There are 2 ways that Administrators and Managers can get more restrictive/permissive beyond the default access for their company’s SOPs.
- By Role: On the Manage SOPs screen, Administrators and Managers can select which user roles (Managers and/or Employees) should have access to each SOP by clicking the “View Details” pane of each SOP.
- By User: On the Manage SOPs screen, Administrators and Managers can also select which individual users should have access to each SOP by clicking the “View Details” pane of each SOP.
To control which users have access for an individual SOP:
- Click the "View Details >" anchor text next to any SOP in "Manage SOPs"
- Select the "Permissions" tab on the details pane that slides in from the right
SOP Access: Visible vs. Hidden
To change the default access for an SOP, you can select a role or employee and change the dropdown from "Visible" to "Hidden". This means that the specific user, or all users who have a given role, will no longer be able to see this SOP in their list of SOPs.
Note: When editing an SOP's access "By User", that user's permission will override the permission for their role.
Like custom permissions, all SOPs are visible to Administrators and their access cannot be changed to hidden.